First Blog Ever

I was a quiet girl growing up. It didn’t start that way, but ever since my brother and I stopped talking (and I grew afraid of him), I got quiet and I never developed my communication skills well. I wrote in diaries, as every quiet girl would have done, but I grew tired of it. Knowing that nobody will ever hear of it. Deep inside, I wanted somebody to listen to me every once in a while. But I just didn’t have the guts to assert it to anyone. So, I grew up trying to to do other subtle ways to be noticed–without talking. Never talk, I said. And now, how I wish I’ve done otherwise.

So, here I am. Giving blogging a shot.

My name’s Patrizia. No, that is NOT A TYPO. It’s really spelled that way.  With the z. I pronounce it as Pah-trizi-ya. The history behind that unique [annoying] spelling is quite vague. My tatay said it was because the nurse misspelled it, but I vaguely remember my nanay telling me that she meant to do it. But ultimately, she said that she got the name from my kuya’s crush then. She was named “Patricia”. If it weren’t for her, I would have been named “Isabella”. Sometimes I wish I had that name, but, hey. My name’s catchy enough to be good enough, isn’t it? Hihi.

Anyway, I’m 18 years old (yes! I’m legal already. Mehehe). I study Mining Engineering in the University of the Philippines-Diliman. I shifted from BS Food Technology last year. Why? I want to be an engineer. Period. I’ll explain why I picked mining in another post. I just realised that conforming to my parents and my relatives’ want for me to become a doctor is… going to make me very unhappy since Medical School is expensive and I hate Biology subjects so much. I’m more of the cramming and analysing (while inwardly panicking) kind of student and worker. And person. Life is just much, much easier that way. 🙂

And lastly, among the many things I’m interested in, I especially love dancing. I love moving and just working with the floor to make these beautiful patterns with my feet. I love pushing my body to the limit that I feel so high right after. And I most especially love expressing myself without the use of words. Nuff said. 🙂

Leave a Reply

